The Grey Labyrinth is a collection of puzzles, riddles, mind games, paradoxes and other intellectually challenging diversions. Related topics: puzzle games, logic puzzles, lateral thinking puzzles, philosophy, mind benders, brain teasers, word problems, conundrums, 3d puzzles, spatial reasoning, intelligence tests, mathematical diversions, paradoxes, physics problems, reasoning, math, science.

   
The Grey Labyrinth Forum Index
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    RegisterRegister  
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

I got this email. Thoughts???

 
Reply to topic    The Grey Labyrinth Forum Index -> Feature Requests / Site Problems
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Zag
Tired of his old title



PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 1:35 am    Post subject: 1 Reply with quote

I received this email today. It was titled:

Notice of Internet Intellectual Property

Quote:

Dear Manager,

(If you are not the person who is in charge of this, please forward this to your CEO,Thanks)

This email is from China domain name registration center, which mainly deal with the domain name registration and dispute internationally in China and Asia.
On Oct 8th 2012, We received Kenya Ltd's application that they are registering the name "greylabyrinth" as their Internet Keyword and "greylabyrinth.cn "、"greylabyrinth.com.cn " 、"greylabyrinth.asia "domain names etc.., they are China and ASIA domain names. But after auditing we found the brand name been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you, so we are sending you this email to check. According to the principle in China, your company is the owner of the trademark, In our auditing time we can keep the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand in china and Asia by yourself, please let the responsible officer contact us as soon as possible. Thank you!

Best Regards,

Abby Wang

General Manager
Anhui Office (Head Office)
Registration Department Manager
Room 1008 Shenhui Building
Haitian Road, Huli Anhui, China


Any thoughts? What should I do about it?

It seems reasonably likely that it is just a scam, someone looking to follow up with, "Well, then you have to pay us so much per year in order to reserve those domains for yourself." Or maybe it's legit.

All regular members are invited to give input, not just moderators. This is especially true if you have any legal knowledge.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
Jedo the Jedi
Paragon in Training



PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 2:18 am    Post subject: 2 Reply with quote

I've never heard of that. You might ask somebody in charge over at MafiaScum if they've encountered anything like this. I say that because there is a mafiascum.com which has nothing to do with mafia. (I advise not going to that site.)

The other question I would ask is do those Nigeria bank emails have the seemingly official signature? That info at the bottom seems traceable, something I'm sure a scam person wouldn't want. I have no knowledge about that though.
_________________
Paragon Tally: 18 mafia, 3 SKs (1 twice), 1 cultist, numerous chat scum...and counting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address MSN Messenger
MNOWAX
0.999... of a Troll



PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 3:28 am    Post subject: 3 Reply with quote

its a total scam, I have had the same exact thing hit on my midlakescomputers.com website.
_________________
The Man The Myth The Legend
MNOWAX
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
MNOWAX
0.999... of a Troll



PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 3:30 am    Post subject: 4 Reply with quote

apparently it's a common scam. http://www.hostaway.net.au/news/chinese-domain-scam/
_________________
The Man The Myth The Legend
MNOWAX
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Zag
Tired of his old title



PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 10:04 am    Post subject: 5 Reply with quote

Thanks, MNO. I was suspecting as much, and was planning to do that research today.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
MNOWAX
0.999... of a Troll



PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 3:33 pm    Post subject: 6 Reply with quote

only thing better would be if it came from Macau, then we could go investigate it ourselves ( and play a little poker on the side....)
_________________
The Man The Myth The Legend
MNOWAX
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous: by   
Reply to topic    The Grey Labyrinth Forum Index -> Feature Requests / Site Problems All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Site Design by Wx3